Schools Art Prizes

by Maya Dewan by Maya Dewan

By Anna DewhirstBy Anna DewhirstThe annual DJGMT Schools Art Competition took place in November 2019. All Aberdeen and Aberdeenshire schools were invited to take part, with 6 schools taking up the invitation.

The judges were very impressed by the very high standard of art they saw at the schools during the competition and congratulate all the pupils who took part, and their staff. It was a difficult, but most enjoyable, task to reach a final decision in the two age categories.

Overall Winners

S 1-3

Kaitlyn Stopper - Fraserburgh Academy 

S 4-6

Maya Dewan - Robert Gordon's College

Anna Dewhirst - St Margaret's

Runners Up

S 1-3

Darcy McKinstry - Robert Gordon's College

Amrutha Tadi - Robert Gordon's College

S 4-6

Jasmine Walker - Fraserburgh Academy

Jill Beard - Albyn School

The judges also Highly Commended the work of Sasha Christie (Hazlehead Academy) , Lily Gray and Caitriona Hastings (both St Margaret’s ). They also commended works by Justine Arndt (St Margaret’s), Matthew Austin (Robert Gordon’s College) and Andrew Will (Hazlehead Academy).

In addition to this Schools Art prize, the Trust awards a further annual art prize through the Royal Scottish Academy to an artist with residential or educational links to North East Scotland.

Because of the pandemic, the trustees reluctantly decided that it was not be possible to run the 2020 Schools Art Competition but plans are being made for the 2021 competition. This will probably run on a rotational area basis to cover a larger number of participating schools.


To leave a donation, or find out more about the trust, please contact:

Mrs Margaret Frank,
5 Disblair Road,
AB21 0PU


Supported Groups: The Arts

Aberdeen Art Gallery; Aberdeen Chamber Orchestra; Aberdeen Gilbert and Sullivan Society; Aberdeen International Youth Festival; Aberdeen Sinfonietta; Big Noise (Torry); Children’s Classic Concerts; Dee and Don Ceilidh; Fleeman; Garidge Theatre; Grampian Youth Orchestra; Haddo Arts Festival; Haddo House Choral and Operatic Society; Inverurie Music; Magnetic North; National Theatre of Scotland; National Youth Orchestra of Scotland; North East of Scotland Music School; Opera Bohemia; Royal Scottish National Orchestra; Scottish Ballet; Scottish Chamber Orchestra; Scottish Dance Theatre; Scottish Ensemble; Scottish Opera; Scrapers and Tooters; Shazam Theatre Company; Sound Festival;

Supported Groups: Charitable Youth and Community Centres

Aberdeen Cyrenians; Belhelvie Community Trust; Cromar Future Project; Drop In (Aboyne); Elgin Youth Development Group; Formartine Youth Project; Gordon Riding for the Disabled; Hearts and Minds; Hopscotch; Inchgarth Community Centre; Kayleigh’s Wee Stars; Logie Coldstone Trust; Maryculter Riding for the Disabled; Maryculter Woodland Trust; Midmar Hall; Monymusk Play Park; NSPCC Childline; Poppy Scotland; Red Cross; Robert Gordon University Foundation; Salvation Army; Sea Scouts; Tarland Bee Group; Teapot Trust; Udny Green Hall

Supported Groups: Ecumenical Christian

Belhelvie Parish Church; Haddo House Chapel; New Community Church (Inverurie); St Andrew’s Cathedral (Aberdeen)